The Shepherd’s Boy

Aquila Hope
2 min readAug 7, 2019

The reason I chose that particular picture is because there are moments in time I think ‘Go back to 9–5’ or ‘I should’ve never left home’ or ‘I regret x’ but then I remember having a conversation recently with another freelance friend. We started off comparing our usual issues being a freelancer (invoices, propositions, not so greta clients) while enjoying a friends barbecue.

We both shared what goals we had to complete before the end of the year. She talked about a crowdfunder, I talked about the upcoming year anniversary of my coaching practice, website refresh and changing rate prices. Her face lit up and with a beaming smile and said:

‘You’ve come so far in a year!’

I was a bit shocked as I didn’t really think of it as a big deal. I was just thinking of it as ‘business as usual’ more than anything. I still think I have a lot of work to do personally too. However she continued to enlighten me:

‘I remember when you told me about looking into coaching as a vocation. I genuinely thought it was something you’d be great in, but you’ve taken it step by step, day by day and client by client. Now you have something. You no longer have nothing.’

Then I thought of one of my favourite Doctor Who episodes called ‘Heaven Sent’ and a situation where they have to break through an almost impossible wall. Throughout, he recites and paraphrases ‘The Shepard’s Boy’ by The Brother’s Grimm (which is in the picture above) and after being stuck in a time loop for over five billion years, punching a hole into the wall over and over they break through to the other side.

It’s easy to see what we do as insignificant, small and irrelevant. However, step by step, bit by bit and over time (not necessarily five billion years by the way!) things that seem impossible become possible. You just have to be patient and stick with it.

Until next time, #embraceinfinity and be one hell of a bird!

--

--

Aquila Hope

Transformative Coach | Trans Activist + Spokesperson| Musician. I love telling stories and awakening souls to big questions. #embraceinfinity